scan0002

I had the most beautiful letter through the post a while back.

It was addressed to “Mr Mailman” with a heart above the i where the dot is supposed to go, written in a neat, child-like hand.

On the back was a picture of a sleeping cat with a toy dinosaur behind it. The dinosaur had jagged shapes coming out of its mouth, like lightning.

I think the lighting was meant to represent the dinosaur’s roar.

scan0007

The letter itself was written on the inside of the envelope.

At the top it said “stuff + cats = awesome”.

Here is the text of the letter, written, like the envelope, in a simple, unselfconscious, hand, with hearts where all the dots and apostrophes usually go.

It said: “Dear Mr Mailman, my mum says that you always deliver our mail. Even when it rains. Even in the snow.

“I don’t go out in the rain, but I love to play in the snow. I like both. The rain and the snow.

“Anyhow, you will always bring us our mail everyday. You bring me cards from my Grandma on my birthday, and Christmas and you bring us pictures from amerika from my other Nan, even when it will rain.

“My mum says you know my name, she says you know everybody’s name, and that you work hard for us everyday in the rain and in the sun and in the snow. That is amazing.

“Mr Mailman you are amazing. AMAZING!

“LOVE from Evie.R.Body xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx”

There were 16 kisses and the word “Amazing” appeared both times inside a hand drawn star. The word “everyday” was double underlined.

I can honestly say that was one of the best letters I’ve ever had.

Sometimes my job can be very hard. I often come home from work and just fall asleep, exhausted. That letter made it feel good to be a postman.

So I’d just like to say thank you to Evie.R.Body, whoever you might be. And just as you have written it from everybody, to me, so I think I will dedicate it to all the other postal workers in the world.

You are ALL AMAZING.

Evie.R.Body says so.

scan0006

***********************

The Whitstable Gazette.
The editor welcomes letters on any topical subject, but reserves the right to edit them. Letters must include your name and address even when emailed and a daytime telephone number.
Send letters to:
The Editor, 5-8 Boorman Way, Estuary View Business Park, Whitstable, Kent CT5 3SE,
fax 01227 762415
email kentishgazette@thekmgroup.co.uk
